Men's Tennis

Give to Notre Dame Men's Tennis

Begin Here


Notre Dame Men’s Tennis started in 1923, and has since been led by seven coaches. Current head coach Ryan Sachire, a former Irish player himself, has led the team since 2013.  

In the history of Men’s Tennis varsity competition at Notre Dame, 18 different Irish players have earned All-America honors on 33 occasions, spanning from 1944 to 2015. This academic excellence is rivaled only by the team’s achievements on the court.  

Following 60 years competing as an independent, the Notre Dame Men’s Tennis team has had incredible success in conference action. The Irish have been league champions 16 times, including a streak of eight consecutive conference titles from the 1988-89 to 1995-96 seasons.

The Irish have advanced to the NCAA championship in 24 of the last 25 years. This run is highlighted by a trip to the championship match in 1992—the first by a Northern school since the inception of the team tournament—and an appearance in the quarterfinals in 1993, as well as five other trips to the round of 16.

Notre Dame won the NCAA championship in 1959, along with Tulane, when the tournament was based on points gained from individual singles and doubles victories. The Irish also tied with Texas and Miami (Fla.) to win the national title in 1944, when only wins from the quarterfinals or later counted as team points.

Join the Rockne Athletics Fund

The Rockne Athletics Fund empowers student-athletes with the resources they need to be successful in the classroom, community, and competition. Each level of membership in the Rockne Athletics Fund distinctly impacts Notre Dame student-athletes and comes with a unique set of accompanying experiences, such as access to exclusive events and athletic facilities on campus and unique opportunities to interact with University Athletic leadership and student-athletes.

Learn more